Making decisions can be a workout

How bad is it that I may not work out today simply because I don’t feel like showering?

😀

I’ve worked out 3 times this week, thought I might go for a fourth today, but then I looked at the clock and it’s already 12:30 pm and I started calculating in my head how much time I’d lose in my day if I worked out.

Pro: it’s good for me, and I still have lots of weight I want to lose. It also gives me energy.

Con: the whole process is time consuming, and I’m not sure I want to give up that amount of time today. Seriously. It always seems to take at least 2 hours.

You’ve got your workout itself, which ranges in length, depending on what you do. Say that’s anywhere from a half hour to an hour. Then there’s cool-down time. Then you add on your shower which is a must because you’ve worked up a major sweat, and even if it’s the quickest thing in the world you still have to do it and then there’s the time it takes to dry off and put on lotion (because my poor feet are trashed) and deal with your wet hair and get dressed, and suddenly it’s 2 to 3 hours later and where goes the time?

Normally, it’s fine. I take that time loss into account. It’s simply part of my routine, and that’s life.

But some days I just don’t feel like giving up all that time. Like today, for example. It’s Sunday. I got my homework done ahead of time. After being busy busy busy, I’d like to RELAX. Break up the usual routine. Do something DIFFERENT. Something fun. Or just chill out for a change.

Frankly, it’s been so long since I had free time to myself (where I wasn’t thinking ahead to what still needs to be done) that I feel like I’ve forgotten HOW to relax or have fun or chill out.

So today I find myself looking at the clock, seeing it’s already almost 1 PM and asking myself, “Do I really want to lose the next 2+ hours of my day? What do I WANT to do today?”

Sometimes working out is important. It gives you clarity, it gives you energy, it gives you focus. Sometimes it even helps you keep your sanity. (I joke. Sort of. LOL.)

But sometimes it’s okay to make another choice. To NOT work out. To give yourself a different kind of “me” time. And that choice can bring you sanity, too.

The question is: which kind will I choose today?

Leave a Reply

